jump to navigation

The suicide May 2, 2007

Posted by knuffelmock in screenplays.
trackback

 Screenplay adapted from the page 177 – 178

INT. STAIRWAY – NIGHT

JJ is
walking up the stairs and on his way he meets MAUREEN. Camera pans around the
corner till both of them are around it and then the camera zooms in because the
persons came up the stairs.

MAUREEN

Where else would I go ?.

JJ

No, I just meant… last time you
weren’t gonna go home, you know ? Not, like, on the bus, anyway.

MAUREEN

On the bus ?

JJ

Last time, you were going to get off
the roof the quick way.

JJ is
walking his fingers through the air and plunged them downwards, as if they were
jumping off the roof. Camera is in Detail showing JJ and his fingers.

JJ

But tonight, Its sounds as though
you’ll be taking the long way down.

Camera
switchs back to former position.

MAUREEN

Oh. Yes. Well. I’ve come on a bit.
In my head I mean.

JJ

Thats great.

MAUREEN

I’m still feeling the benefit of the
holiday, I think.

JJ

Right on.

Then they
continue their way up without talking.

EXT.
ROOFTOP – NIGHT

JJ and
MAUREEN are standing there and MARTIN and JESS are arriving a couple of minutes
later. Camera is over-the-shoulder of JJ and MAUREEN an is showing the roof.
They are going toward the middle of the roof and the Camera is staying behind,
suddendly the door is opening and camera is close up towards the door. Camera
changes to Total of the roof from the side and shows how JESS and MARTIN are
walking torwards JJ and MAUREEN. All of them are standing in a group, the
camera zooms in.

JESS

Hello

MARTIN

Hello

What
was the point of this, actually ?

JESS

We
were going to meet up and see how we were all feeling and all that.

MARTIN

Ah.

And how are we all feeling ?

JJ

Maureen’s doing good.

Aren’t you, Maureen ?

MAUREEN

I am. I was saying to JJ, I think
I’m still feeling the benefit of the holiday

MARTIN

Which holiday ? The holiday we just
had ?

MARTIN
shakes his Head with an mixture of amazment and admiration while looking at
MAUREEN. Close-Up of MARTINs head and while he is turning to MAUREEN camera
goes into a normal shot of both of them. Camera then returns into former
position.

JJ

How about you, Mart ?

How you doing ?

MARTIN

Oh, you know. Comme ci Comme ca.

JESS

Tosser

MARTIN

I read something I thought might
interest you all.

JESS

Yeah ?

MARTIN

I was wondering… Maybe it would be
good to talk about it somewhere other than here. In a pub, say.

JJ

Sounds good to me.

I mean, maybe we should celebrate
anyway, you know ?

MARTIN

Celebrate ?

JJ

Yeah, I mean, we’re alive, and…

Maureen ?

MAUREEN

Yes, I don’t mind

JJ

It doesn’t look to me like anyone’s
going to jump.

Not tonight. Is that right ? Jess ?

Close Up of
JESS.

JESS

Fuck me.

Jesus Christ.

JESS notices a GUY sitting at the edge of the
roof. The GUY is watching the group with an frightend expression.
Over-the-shoulder from JESS camera zooms into the GUY.

Then total shot with JJ at the right end of the
screen and the GUY at the left end sitting at the edge of the roof.

JJ(quietly)

Hey, man.

Hey.
Just stay there.

JJ starts
to walk slowly towards the GUY.

GUY

Please don’t come any closer.

GUY is in
panic, nervously dragging a cigarette

JJ

We
have all been there. Come on back over and you can join our gang. This is our
reunion

JJ makes a
few more steps.

JESS (vo)
Yeah.

Look at us. We are OK. You think you
are never going to get through the evening, but you do.

GUY

I don’t want to.

JJ

Tell us what the problem is.

JJ walks a
little more closer.

JJ

I mean, we are all fucking experts in the
field. Maureen here…

GUY is
flipping his cigarette over the edge and pushes himself of with a moan. Then a
silent break. Camera is at the position were the guy was at. It is showing JJ,
JESS, MARTIN, MAUREEN. The next sound is the GUY’s body hitting the ground.
Every Face is shown in a close-up.

Sören Keck,
David Mock

Comments»

1. caedez - May 9, 2007

Nice one! Very detailed so I can make me a picture out of the text and also imagine this in a setting of a movie.

2. yoschi - May 9, 2007

a lot of text, maybe a little bit to much?! all in all good

3. bennifo - May 9, 2007

I think you have chosen a well and important scene.You obviously put much effort in your screenplay . Because of your very detailed and intelligent choice of different camera perspectives it´s very authentic and I can imagine this in a film.

4. benchi - May 9, 2007

I think your screenplay is very good. It is easy to imagine what happens.


Leave a Reply

